These Boots Are Made For Walking

Well the last 3 weeks have gone fast – can’t believe that today’s is the last session.

Neil asked me if I feel any different than before I started.   There are 2 things:

1.   I feel ‘better’ – the workouts give me enormous highs as well as showing me that I’m not totally decrepit and that I can still do things, so I feel better physically, as well as feeling better in myself.

2. The biggest difference is that I’ve remembered all the things I used to do – and the great time I had doing them all…

IMG_1067

Knackered, Denmark, WA

Knackered, Kangaroo Valley

Knackered, Kangaroo Valley

IMG_1749

Knackered, Murray to the Mountains Rail Trail

Cycling the canal du midi

Knackered, Canal du Midi, France

What I’ve learned over the past 3 weeks:

1.   planning is key with food.  If I don’t get my meals organised – especially lunch – the outcome’s unlikely to be positive

2.   planning involves effort and action, rather than thinking vague but well-meaning thoughts and hoping for the best

3.   things change/not everyone does things the same way.    Years ago,  I used to have a PT session once a week at Fitness First but dreaded it because it was always the same exercises – it worked but it wasn’t much fun.  I’ve looked forward to all these sessions because I never know what I’m going to be doing.

4.   exercise gives back more than you put in – I get it now, the harder the effort, the better you feel

5.   I like doing weights.  And push ups.  Weird.

6.   I got  home yesterday feeling really fed up with life, the universe and everything but realised that when I used to cycle home, I never felt miserable by the time I got there – it was exercised away.  Tomorrow, I’m getting off the ferry a stop early and cycling the last bit.

So,  I’ve signed up for the full 3 month course which ends the week before I leave for Italy.

Perfect.

IMG_3013

Cortina, these boots are heading your way….

6 comments

    1. It’s a pity you got put of crossfit as many boxes are different and you’ll just need to find one where the culture matches your needs. Like I said the most efficient means. I’m sure your personal trainer is mixing in some crossfit stuff. It’s all scalable and feasible for anyone. Haven’t exercised for 2 mths now due to my broken nose 😦

  1. Sounds like a plan Grace. You’ve motivated me to get going also. That week’s cycling in France is coming right at me and if I don’t start with a program now I’ll be very sorry, I know. Its the getting started that is the problem, so you’re over the first hurdle well and truly. Well done!

    1. You’re so right. Just needed a kick up the backside – and Neil doing the kicking doesn’t work! Where are you off to in France?

Leave a Reply

