Week 6 – Monday – Stretching Might Help More than Gin

Today I cycled home from work (15km) in lieu of running this morning as my instep’s not right yet (where are  my new trainers Wiggle.com???).

The running seems to have made a difference to my overall fitness because I overtook a girl WHILE GOING UP THE SPIRAL ONTO THE ANZAC BRIDGE.  This is truly historic.  True, I thought I was going to cark it on the bridge as my lungs were going to explode.  And Neil didn’t help by shouting ‘she’s catching you up’ which played to my over-developed competitive instincts.

I also overtook 2 other people and got home in 45 minutes – I’ve never gone that fast.

And usually when if I cycle home my face is bright red but tonight I was only a bit pink. That was a surprise as well.

Re my ‘injury’; Linda asked what I did when I got home from Saturday evening’s run.  I said I sat down with a gin & tonic.  She looked appalled – what no stretching???  Well, no not really.  This may be my mistake.

Will see how the foot is tomorrow have a go at a jog in preparation for Sunday.

4 comments

  1. Yes, I am appalled Grace as if it was me, I wouldn’t survive for 6 weeks without stretching 😛 Congrats for overtaking 😛 Soon if not already you’ll be overtaking me too.

  2. Yes I should be taking it all a bit more seriously. And I don’t think I’ll be overtaking you anytime soon Linda…. 🙂

  3. I’ve moved to a new PC and Googled “Essentially Inert” to re-add your blog – and, lo-and-behold, you’ve hit the number 1 and 2 spots on Google for that phrase 🙂

    Keep up the good work – you are putting the rest of us sloths to shame!

    1. Thanks Martin – cor – top of a Google search. I don’t know what to say. Overcome with emotion etc. Do I get a prize?

Leave a Reply

